A record 10 faculty receive Fellow distinction from AAAS

January 1, 2012

The American Association for the Advancement of Science awarded the distinction of Fellow to a record 10 Indiana University faculty members at the end of 2011. Founded in 1848, AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science.

The new Fellows, all from the Bloomington campus, include seven from the College of Arts and Sciences and one each from the School of Education, the School of Library and Information Science, and the School of Medicine. The 10 new Fellows represent the largest group selected from IU since 2001, when five Fellows were named, and brings the total number of AAAS Fellows at IU to 66.

The Fellows from Indiana University, along with the AAAS citation of merit, are:

Carl Bauer, Professor and chair, Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry Department

Katy Börner, Victor H. Yngve Professor of Information Science, School of Library and Information Science

David Clemmer, Robert and Marjorie Mann Chair Professor, Department of Chemistry

David L. Dilcher,Professor emeritus, Department of Biology

Patricia Foster, Professor, Department of Biology

Peter Ortoleva,Distinguished professor, Department of Chemistry

Jonathan A. Plucker , Professor, School of Education

Roderick A. Suthers, Professor Physiology, Biophysics, and Neural Sciences

Roger Temam, College Professor in the College of Arts and Sciences, Department of Mathematics

Virginia J. Vitzthum, Professor, Department of Anthropology and Kinsey Institute

Leave a Comment