Honors & Awards

Thumbnail image for Susan Williams to deliver 2013 Distinguished Faculty Research Lecture

When Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf — the first woman to be elected president in modern Africa — shared the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize, the Nobel committee’s citation for the prize noted, “We cannot achieve democracy and lasting peace in the world unless women obtain the same opportunities as men to influence developments at all […]


Thumbnail image for Prize-winning imaging hits Times Square

With crisp resolution to 100 nanometers, the DeltaVision OMX imaging system is considered one of the world’s finest microscope systems. Upon its arrival to Indiana University Bloomington’s Light Microscopy Imaging Center in 2010, researchers quickly renamed it the “OMG” microscope for the amazing images it produced and its ability to do super-speed imaging of multiple-labeled […]


Robert Nosofsky

October 10, 2012

Thumbnail image for Robert Nosofsky

Distinguished Professor of psychological and brain sciences Robert Nosofsky has won the Warren Medal for breakthrough research on how brains categorize and memorize: in short, how we make sense of the world around us.


The American Association for the Advancement of Science awarded the distinction of Fellow to a record 10 Indiana University faculty members at the end of 2011. Founded in 1848, AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science. The new Fellows, all from the Bloomington campus, include seven from the […]